PieSync Help Center

Explore our help center for quick answers

FollowUpBoss and Google Contacts

Frans Leys
  1. In the PieSync dashboard, choose Google Contacts and FollowUpBoss 

    Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 3.17.21 PM

  2. Authorize your apps. 

    Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 3.13.43 PM

  3. FollowUpBoss requires an "API Key" to be authorized. You can find this key in FollowUpBoss when you go to your Admin (top menu) then 'More' and select 'API' from the dropdown menu 

    Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 3.19.31 PM

  4. Configure your sync. A two-way real time sync requires two rules which are preconfigured for you.  They read "IF a contact is in Google Contacts THEN sync the contact between Google Contacts and FollowUpBoss" and "IF a contact is in FollowUpBoss THEN sync the contact between Google Contacts and FollowUpBoss" this means all contacts in Google Contacts will be synced over to FollowUpBoss and all contacts in FollowUpBoss will be synced over to Google Contacts. 

    Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 3.24.01 PM

  5. A lot of people don't want to sync all contacts, or they want label contacts. This can be done by configuring rules. For instance, you can filter your contacts based on their stage in FollowUpBoss.  Perhaps you want to label contacts who have hit the stage Buyers in FollowUpBoss with a labelcalled "Buyer" in Google Contacts (you will need to create this label in Google Contacts if you don't already have one). Create a rule that reads "IF a contact is in FollowUpBoss and Stage equals Buyer THEN sync the contact between Google Contacts and FollowUpBoss and add to label 'Buyer'" At the bottom of this rule activate the toggle which reads "Undo if contact Stage does not equal Buyer, then remove label Buyer in Google Contacts". This will ensure your list is kept up to date. 

    Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 3.32.08 PM

  6. If you delete contacts in FollowUpBoss or in Google Contacts, PieSync will add the tag "PieSync Trash" to the contact so that you can delete them in app. Ensure that you have ticked both boxes under "Sync deletions".

    Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 3.38.03 PM